them from a track.
i saw "saving ptch" shortly in the deleting window.
howto avoid saving changes in patches after deleting
- nay-seven
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5684
- Location: rennes France
- Contact:
Yes, this way you can find old versions of your work in the trashbin, a kind of XL undo 
- nay-seven
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5684
- Location: rennes France
- Contact:
if i understand correctly:
-you can create a preset with your first state of the patch, this way you can come back to this one later.
- If you don' empty the trash bin, next time you run Usine, your first deleted patch will be still here
-you can create a preset with your first state of the patch, this way you can come back to this one later.
- If you don' empty the trash bin, next time you run Usine, your first deleted patch will be still here
-
sephult
- Member
- Posts: 1144
Hi ahs -
I was a little confused by your post, but I think from your last comment I am starting to understand some?
So you are taking a Library patch and putting into your workspace?
When you delete a patch it will say that it is saved, because it saves it to your trash bin. This way you can archive and undo if needed at any time.
This will not overwrite the actual Library patch, or the original patch you are working on.
I just tested these out as well to verify. If you have a delay FX patch from the library and make a change then delete, it will save this state to the trashbin.
If you load another from the browser Library it should be the patch from the Library, if you make changes to this and delete then open your trash bin.....you will notice two copies.
The two patch instances in the trash will be the state in which you deleted it.
So the Library patches can be overwritten, I was thinking that this might be what you are running into as well...or might be concerned about.
You will want to save as when you make your changes on a Library patch and put into your own personal folder, this way you retain your default library.
I am wondering if you are making changes and pressing save and this is why the library version is showing up the same.
If you go to the setup, you can specify your personal folder as well and it will show in the browser, this way you can make different changes and save in the same library tab of the browser.
So basically I think the confusion might be how the Trash Bin works, and confusion as to why the library patches are being overwritten?
Best Regards ahs,
-S
I was a little confused by your post, but I think from your last comment I am starting to understand some?
So you are taking a Library patch and putting into your workspace?
When you delete a patch it will say that it is saved, because it saves it to your trash bin. This way you can archive and undo if needed at any time.
This will not overwrite the actual Library patch, or the original patch you are working on.
I just tested these out as well to verify. If you have a delay FX patch from the library and make a change then delete, it will save this state to the trashbin.
If you load another from the browser Library it should be the patch from the Library, if you make changes to this and delete then open your trash bin.....you will notice two copies.
The two patch instances in the trash will be the state in which you deleted it.
So the Library patches can be overwritten, I was thinking that this might be what you are running into as well...or might be concerned about.
You will want to save as when you make your changes on a Library patch and put into your own personal folder, this way you retain your default library.
I am wondering if you are making changes and pressing save and this is why the library version is showing up the same.
If you go to the setup, you can specify your personal folder as well and it will show in the browser, this way you can make different changes and save in the same library tab of the browser.
So basically I think the confusion might be how the Trash Bin works, and confusion as to why the library patches are being overwritten?
Best Regards ahs,
-S
"Every act of creation is first an act of destruction." -Picasso
